These are state-wide Player/Athlete of the Year awards won by Big 9 Conference athletes.
 This site is always under construction.  If you know of names that should be added to this list, please email the contact below.

Mr. Baseball/Player of the Year
1997  Michael Restovich        Rochester Mayo
2006  Aaron Senne                Rochester Mayo
2012  Mitch Brown                  Rochester Century
2014  Brad Mathiowetz           Rochester Mayo
2022  Louis Magers                Mankato West                     Class AAA

Mr. Basketball/Player of the Year
1990  Chad Kolander              Owatonna
1996  Mitch Ohnstad               Faribault
2019  Matthew Hurt                 Rochester John Marshall

Ms. Basketball/Player of the Year
1997  Coco Miller (tie)             Rochester Mayo
          Kelly Miller (tie)              Rochester Mayo

Mr. Football/Player of the Year
1985  Darrell Thompson         Rochester John Marshall
2011  Philip Nelson                 Mankato West
2018  Jason Williamson          Owatonna

Ms. Golfer/Player of the Year
2017  Stephanie Herzog         Red Wing
2019  Leah Herzog                 Red Wing

Mr. Hockey/Player of the Year
1998  Johnny Pohl                  Red Wing

Ms. Hockey/Player of the Year
2018  Taylor Heise                  Red Wing
2024  Ayla Puppe                    Northfield

Mr. Soccer/Player of the Year
2010  Adam Osman                Mankato East                         Class A
2016  Jake Makela                  Mankato West                        Class A
2020  Henry Tolbert                 Austin                                     Class A

Ms. Soccer/Player of the Year
2008  Stephanie Brandt          Rochester Century                  Class AA
2017  McKenna Buisman        Mankato West                         Class A

Ms. Softball/Player of the Year
2019  McKayla Armbruster      Faribault
2021  Brynn Hostettler             Northfield

Minnesota Swimmer of the Year
1983  Bob Hauck                     Northfield
1994  Kari Klassen                   Northfield
2001  Kristin Ophaug               Northfield                                Class A
2005  Beth Kiczula                   Red Wing                               Class A
          Jenny Shaughnessy       John Marshall                        Class AA
2010  Turner Eckstrom             Red Wing                               Class A
2013  Danielle Nack                 Mankato West                        Class A
2014  Danielle Nack                 Mankato West                        Class A
          Tanner Alms                    Red Wing                               Class A
2015  Lindsey Horejsi               Albert Lea                               Class A
2017  Paul Sadergaski             Faribault                                  Class A
2018  Griffin Wolner                  Winona                                   Class A
2020  Jack Herczeg                  Winona                                   Class A

National High School Record Setter

2015   Lindsey Horejsi, 100 Breaststroke - Albert Lea

Athletes in Minnesota Coach's Hall of Fame
1967  Paul Giel                      Winona                 Football Hall of Fame
1973  Bruce Smith                 Faribault               Football Hall of Fame, University of Minnesota Heisman Trophy Winner, 1941


Contact: Big 9 Conference Web Director